top of page
  • Writer's pictureMatthew Golden

Project #2 Final Statement

I had a lot of fun making this Soundscape and found it much more enjoyable than the first project surprisingly. I've always had a deep love for music and I feel this is the reason why I took such a liking to this project. Layering sounds on top of each other in a cohesive way to create a believable environment through only the use of sound was an idea that I had never considered. My approach for this project was to create a soundscape that was similar to my day to day activities, i.e. waking up early, attending classes, talking with friends, etc. Though I had no prior skill in Adobe Audition, I feel that I was truly able to capture different scenes. My strategy for doing this was to observe a photo of the scene that I wanted to create and then work around that photo to make a soundscape that has the same feel as that photo. For example, I used a photo of an early morning, coffee brewing, window wide open to hear the birds outside.


I feel that this strategy worked well in my favor. This strategy stopped me from adding too many unnecessary sounds and cluttering the space. I also really enjoyed using the effects to make a daydream sequence in my soundscape. I would accomplish this by distorting and muffling all of the background audio eventually leading up to a large explosion of audio that snaps the character out of the daydream. This idea of the daydream is something that really fascinates me and I plan on using this same method in my different projects in this class.


This was the reference image that I used for creating my daydream soundscape, a clouding of the mind. I feel it symbolizes inner peace, for but a brief moment. Stressful thoughts are pushed to the side and the mind is left to wander to it's own accord until eventually being forcefully pulled back.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page